World InfoZone - WIZ Around The World
Saturday 15th December
American Samoa Information - Page 1
The Territory of American Samoa is an unincorporated and unorganized territory of the USA. American Samoa consists of five inhabited islands and two atolls. Tutuila is the the largest island.

Pago Pago (on Tutuila), the capital of American Samoa, has a natural deepwater harbour.

The five islands are volcanic in origin. Rose Island and Swains Island are coral atolls.

The climate of American Samoa is tropical marine.

Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary, located in an ancient volcanic crater on Tutuila, is one of American Samoa's Marine Sanctuaries.

The National Park of American Samoa extends over four islands.

Animals found in American Samoa include bats and geckos. Whales, sharks and turtles inhabit the archipelago.

Until the mid twentieth century American Samoans lived in fales. Traditional fales were usually oval in shape with light timber frames. The buildings were open with palm blinds. Fales gave way to concrete or brick buildings with corrugated iron roofs.

Historic properties in American Samoa are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The population of American Samoa was 67,242 in 2011.

Over ninety percent of the people speak Samoan, a Polynesian language.

American Samoans are Christians. Around half of the people are Christian Congregationalists.

Staple foods in American Samoa include taro, breadfruit, chicken, pork and fish. Sea cucumbers are also eaten.

Tropical fruits are bananas, coconuts, mangoes and papayas.

A traditional way of preparing food is in an umu, an outside oven, where food is placed on hot rocks and covered with leaves.

Next Page | Facts | Gallery
American Samoa Sections
Geography Environment
Architecture Population
Languages Religion
Food History
Economy Arts
Sport Holidays

American Samoa
Read Samoan Village

Gorham's Cave Complex

The Twickenham Tribune

Terms Of Use
Terms of Use and

Stockholm Challenge

Rome GJC Challenge

© 1997 - 2018 World InfoZone Ltd